School Logo

Welcome to

St. Oswald's RC

Primary & Nursery School

Nihil Satis Nisi Optimum Only the best will do

Contact Us

Contact Details

Class 3 - Mrs Guest

All about Class 3

Class 3 consists of Reception and Year 1 children.  At the age of 4, your child will begin their second step at St Oswald's, where they'll enjoy studying a range of subjects as well as exciting topics. 

During their time in class they cover a number of topics such as; people who help us, animals, fantasy stories and creatures; health and growing and many more exciting things.

A very exciting class with lots of play based learning, a place where the children will begin to form lasting friendships.

If you wish to know more about the Reception and Year 1 curriculum, please do not hesitate to contact school.

What we are learning in Class 3

Within Class 3, the children will cover a range of topics across the curriculum.  Due to class 3 being a mixed aged class, we run a two year cycle.

Useful You Tube Channels 

If your child is requesting to use the IPAD after school or at weekends you can show them these fun channels on You Tube which makes learning fun.  

You Tube has some superb resources to aid children's learning. 

Reading in Class 3

All children are taught to read and spell using the Red Rose Phonics Phonics programme. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills to children following the Red Rose Phonics Scheme. The children will progress through the phases below.



Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One (Nursery/Reception)

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two (Reception) 

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.
Phase Three (Reception) The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four (Reception)

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segent longer words with adjacet consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Phase Five (Throughout Year 1)Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.
Phase Six (Throughout Year 2 and beyond)Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


The reading schemes used in EYFS  and Key Stage 1 are -

  • Collins - Big Cat
  • Oxford Reading Tree


All parents receive a Termly Curriculum Map which shows what their child will be learning about in that Term across all subjects.